Universiti Teknologi Malaysia

About UTM

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia was established in 1904 as a technical school. It wasn’t until 1941 that the institute’s status of “college” was obtained and established UTM as a technical college. The college was built in Jalan Semarak, Kuala Lumpur. In the early years the college offered engineering courses at diploma level. In 1960, the university upgraded its courses to the degree level. On 1 April 1975, the institution became a university and changed their name to University Teknologi Malaysia. Subsequently, UTM moved to a new campus in Johor Bahru. The works began in 1978 and finished on September 1985. 

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) is now a research ugraduate-focused driven by innovation. It is a premier Malaysian public research-intensive university ranked 187th in the world by QS University rankings. Its medium of instruction is English. It specializes in engineering, science and technology. 

Situated both in Kuala Lumpur, and Johor Bahru, the southern city in Iskandar Malaysia. The first campus is 38 hectares and the second campus is built on a 1148-hectare piece.