The University of Malaysia Terengganu (UMT)

About UMT

The University of Malaysia Terengganu (UMT) began as Universiti Pertanian Malaysia’s Centre for Fisheries and Marine Science in 1979. When this centre was transferred to Kuala Terengganu, the faculty transformed in June 1996. The faculties Applied Sciences & Technology, Faculty of Science & Professional Literature and the Matriculation Centre were formed. Later, on 5th May 1999 the University College of Terengganu was established as an associate campus. Eventually, UMT was given the status of a full-grown university.

Being the 14th public university established in Malaysia, Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT) is also the first university college in Malaysia. UMT is located along the South China Sea, by the beach in Kuala Terengganu and not far from Lake Kenyir, the largest man-made lake, with an area of 260,000 hectares in South-East Asia. UMT is one of the top public universities specialising in fields such as oceanography and marine science. 

UMT also offers studies in maritime, economics, management, basic sciences, physical sciences, engineering and computing. The university’s slogan is: Ocean of Discoveries, for Global Sustainability. Their vision is becoming the country’s leading and globally respected Marine-Focused University